Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t believe it. I don’t follow astrology, not for any specific reason just mostly out of lack of deep interest. I have, however, recently been made aware that Mercury is in retrograde. What does this mean, you might ask, as I did myself. Well, let me tell you! In astrology, Mercury rules communication, clear thinking, truth & travel. When the planet goes retrograde (something about being next to the sun and looking like it’s reversed) it sort of becomes opposite day for all those things. Communication is hampered, thoughts are muddled and jumbled, the truth can get lost in the heap and well, I don’t know, travel becomes not the best idea?

If it’s possible, I feel like I might be experiencing the opposite. I feel more motivated and clear-headed than I have in weeks, and my creativity seems to be surging. I’m not complaining mind you, just getting a little bit worried about what might happen when Mercury gets back to normal!

In the midst of all this retrograding, creating and truth-telling I stumbled across this quote from Robert Fulghum and feel compelled to share it with all of you:

Maybe we should develop a Crayola bomb as our next secret weapon. A happiness weapon. A beauty bomb. And every time a crisis developed, we would launch one. It would explode high in the air – explode softly – and send thousands, millions, of little parachutes into the air. Floating down to earth – boxes of Crayolas. And we wouldn’t go cheap, either – not little boxes of eight. Boxes of sixty-four, with the sharpener built right in. With silver and gold and copper, magenta and peach and lime, amber and umber and all the rest. And people would smile and get a little funny look on their faces and cover the world with imagination. ~Robert Fulghum

Not only do I wish our world could work like this (thank you Gene Roddenberry) but it has the exact tone of the creative energy that I’m feeling!

So, anyone else out there have thoughts on Mercury in retrograde, astrology in general, or creativity?