Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well here we are again!  Wow, what a week it has been.  I know I’ve been off the radar for the past few days, but that’s been because I was lucky enough to get to participate in some awesome media and communication training that my company was offering.  I was part of a three-day workshop in how to make our sales communication more impactful, and I was able to take from it some great tools that I can use not just in my job, but also in my personal writing projects.

I also got to spend several days with, and learn from, some great ladies from our sales team who have already participated in this training and were acting as our coaches, especially a few whom I’ve worked closely with but never actually gotten to meet, so that was awesome. The creative and intellectual capital of the folks I trained with was amazing and inspirational, and I’ve been moved to take a more active role in the team building and corporate development activities of my company, including reaching out to the VP in charge of our leadership council, requesting a position in said group. Already it feels like new and exciting doors are being opened for me in 2012.

As great as that all is… the downside to this training was three days of waking up at 6am, painful for someone who usually rolls out of bed at 8:45 (and consequently doesn’t know how to make herself sleep before 1am) and sits down to work the first two hours of the day in her pjs before deciding that she should go find a hairbrush, or a bra for that matter. Beyond that, there were the two days of eating well outside my diet plan, due to limited catered options and lack of self control around chocolate chip cookies, plus two nights of having WELL off the diet plan drinks with coworkers I never get to see. End result?  I gained two pounds by the time I got around to weighing myself in on Friday. I also didn’t get a chance to do any reading or writing related to my creative endeavors.

*sigh*

I have resolved to not be discouraged by this start to the new year, because you know what? Shit happens.  I will do better this week, and we’ll go on from there.  If I had to screw up a couple resolutions that I have the whole year to get right, in order to have the experience I did with this workshop, then it was well worth it, in my book.

Since finishing up training on Friday and crashing for something like ten hours to reclaim some of the sleep that I’d lost, I’ve also had the chance to read Tamar, by Mal Peet, which won the Carnegie Medal in 2005. I had downloaded it as something I wanted to read for the Award Winning Books Challenge I’m participating in this year, but when I picked it out of my Kindle list I kind of forgot that and thought I would be delving into some lighthearted YA speculative fiction.  Not so, but definitely a great read, and I’m glad I picked it up.  I’ll do an actual review of it in the next couple days, as well as a review of Wildefire, by Karsten Knight, which I started today and IS the lighthearted YA speculative fiction novel I was trying for with Tamar.

Also, sometime this week I HAVE TO start drafting this prequel to my NaNo-novel, or I’ll never be able to face my writing group again.

If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.

~Henry David Thoreau

