Tags

, , , , , ,

And I’m desperate to start writing… although, I only have the barest hint of a plot and one fully formed protagonist. No supporting cast, no well-developed settings.  *sigh*

I read through Chris Baty’s No Plot? No Problem! over the weekend, up to the part where he goes into his weekly pep talks. Chris is the founder of National Novel Writing Month. I found it to be somewhat useful from a planning perspective but less helpful in that I’m intending to write within the sci-fi genre and his tips were centered around folks writing about everyday life, relationships, jobs and family life in the modern day. Boooooooring!  I don’t (for the most part) read that kind of literature, so why would I want to write it? I wish he had broken out some tips or comments or just, anything, for those of us interested in more speculative genres.

Tomorrow I plan to scan through James Scott Bell’s The Art of War for Writers. I should have cracked this one open two weeks ago when it arrived from Amazon, but I was afraid of doing too much NaNoWriMo prep, thinking that I’d get over-eager and jump the gun on the actual writing of my novel. The stated guidelines for participation allow for no more than one week of prep and pre-writing.  One week.  I had intended to actually take that one week and get some solid outlining and character development completed. The universe had other plans for me though, or at least, my job did.  I’m a sales writer for a large multi-national, as I may have mentioned before, and I had a Halloween bid deadline.  The October 31 deadline necessitated that I have my document done by noon on Friday so as to have time to produce hard copies and have them overnighted to the client’s headquarters. Suffice it to say I didn’t do much else last weekend beyond work and sleep. Well, and read Deadline, but you guys already know about that from the 15-odd posts I wrote about how you all ought to be reading it.  And you should.  Right now.

Did I mention that I’m counting Deadline as my entry for Peril the Third in The R.I.P challenge hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings?  No?  Hrm.  Well… You can find my longer post on Deadline either by scrolling down the page of by following this link to Finished!

Did I also mention that we got a new kitten last week?  His people were moving and couldn’t take him, so he was stuck with nowhere to go but the shelter, and I just couldn’t let that happen.  I swear, if it wasn’t for me having a boyfriend and some semblance of a social life I’d totally be my neighborhood’s crazy cat lady.  Anyway, internet, meet Tucker!

So, with all that said… good luck to all the other WriMos out there, and I hope to see all of you at the finish line! Here’s hoping life gets a little less hectic in November!

Cheers!

